Darth Vader – Beautiful Prose

The most beautiful expression of Darth Vader I’ve ever heard/read.

So, I was trying to cue up Darth Bane – Path of Destruction audiobook to go to sleep to. Because, nothing cradles you to sleep like the awesome tales of the awesome Dark Lord of the Sith – Darth Bane, and I couldn’t find it on YouTube. It’s just gone. Suffice it to say, I found it another way. While I was waiting, I went ahead and let Lords of the Sith: Star Wars play.

Now, I’ve listened to this book before, and it moved me then as well, but tonight I was just taken up with it and I thought I’d share it with the interweb. This is transcribed from audio, and I may have misheard one word, but it’ll do. Prepare yourselves to enter the mind of Vader, our Dark Father…

Lords of the Sith: Star Wars — By: Paul S. Kemp; Narrated By Jonathon Davis

“He was home. Once he’d found the armor hateful, foreign, but now he knew better. He realized that he’d always been fated to wear it. Just as the Jedi had always been fated to betray their principles. He’d always been fated to face Obi-Wan and fail on Mustafar, and in failing … learn … the armor separated him from the galaxy. From everyone, made him singular. Freed him from the needs of the flesh, the concerns of the body that once had plagued him, and allowed him to focus solely on his relationship to the force. It terrified others, he knew. And that … pleased him. Their terror was a tool he used to accomplish his ends.

“Yoda once had told him that fear led to hate and hate to suffering, but Yoda had been wrong. Fear was a tool used by the strong to cow the weak. Hate was the font of true strength. Suffering was not the result of the rule of the strong over the weak. Order was. By it’s very existence, the force mandated the rule of the strong over the weak. The force mandated order. The Jedi had never seen that and they had misunderstood the force and been destroyed. But Vader’s Master saw it. Vader saw it. And so they were strong, and so they ruled. He rose. His breathing loud in his ears. Loud in the chamber. His image huge and dark on the reflective wall. A wave of his gauntleted hand and a mental command rendered the walls of his (ovate) meditation chamber transparent instead of reflective…”

I don’t know about you guys, but to me, that is just poetry to my soul. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. It’s even better when Jonathan Davis is reading it to you. And now, I get to go to sleep to Mr. Jonathan Davis reading Darth Bane.

Goodnight interwebs!

May The Force Serve You Always!

Slaughter-by-Raph-Lomotan
Photograph by Raph Lomotan and his Deviant Art.

Leave a Reply

